The historic town of Hammond was surveyed in 1897 and named after the eldest son of William Henry Hammond Jervois, Governor of South Australia. The town was planned in the vision of Colonel Light with four terraces surrounded by a belt of parklands.
Unfortunately, it never grew big enough to spread to the parklands, but it did boast a population of 600 and had three churches, a butter factory, schools, police station, railway station, post office, thriving hotel and a farm implement factory. The great drought of the 1880s saw the town's population reduce dramatically, and today it is a virtual ghost town. Most buildings are private holiday homes such as the hotel, post office, school and station cottages.
However, the origins of the town go back to a time before the 1879 survey. The Hammond Hotel was built and licensed from 1877. Jacka Brothers who ran the brewery in Melrose opened the hotel with beer carted from their brewery. The hotel closed in 1972. Another early structure was the town Post Office built in 1880 with William Hudson as the first Post Master. The Police Station was another early structure as was the state school which opened in 1885 - as a provisional school. The fine stone building which still stands was built around 1895 when Hammond was no longer a provisional school. For a few years Hammond also had a Catholic School. Hammond School closed in 1969 with just 6 pupils. In its early years it had over 50 pupils a year. In its heyday Hammond had three stone churches. The first was the Wesleyan Methodist built in 1884. It closed in 1955 and was demolished. St Andrew’s Anglican Church began services in the Institute in 1884 and the church opened a few years later in 1892. It was recognised by the Anglican Synod in 1897. It closed in 1954.
Hammond may now be a ghost town but still holds beautiful landscapes of the mid north. Be sure to visit Hammond if you like taking a step back in time to experience breathtaking old town buildings that once thrived over 100 years ago.